ARC Review | I Know Your Secret by Ruth Heald

I Know Your Secret by Ruth Heald
Genre: Mystery & Thriller
Publication Date: June 10th, 2020
ARC from Netgalley

You’re not who you say you are. Neither is she.

She thinks she’s got away with it. She thinks she’s turned over a new leaf, that the past is in the past.

She thinks she’s finally safe, with her perfect son, her devoted husband, and her immaculate suburban house.

She believes the memories of what she did all those years ago are confined to her bedside drawer, tucked carefully away.

She believes she deserves a second chance.

I have to know, how can she live with herself? Isn’t she haunted by the wail of the alarm, the smoke in her lungs, the echoing scream? Doesn’t she lose sleep over the way the flames licked the walls, devouring everything they touched? Why hasn’t the guilt eaten her alive?

So how can I forget? How can I forgive?

Because I know her secret. And I’m not letting her get away with it.

An utterly gripping, addictive and shocking read about the dark secrets we’re ashamed to admit, and the lengths people go to for revenge. Fans of K.L. Slater, My Lovely Wife and The Wife Between Us will be racing through the pages, gasping at the twists, and reeling from the explosive ending of this unmissable page-turner.

| Book Review |

I Know Your Secret by Ruth Heald is a Thriller told in dual points of view of Beth and Danielle, two women who are living seemingly different lives until Danielle becomes a patient of Beth’s. Beth is a therapist who is going through some issues of her own, and when Danielle shows up on her doorstep, Beth is particularly vulnerable. But so is Danielle. One of the things I appreciated about this story was how the author was able to make me equally interested in both women’s lives. The chapters typically alternated between points of view, and most of the time, they ended with a revelation that had me desperate to get back to that character.

Beth is on the cusp of her marriage falling apart when this book begins, and as things progress, the repercussions of that, as she shares a child and home with her husband. I really liked Beth’s character. She had a habit of living in the past, and things hit her very hard, which is what made her so vulnerable. Danielle is a woman who you can tell has a secret from the moment you meet her. She’s clearly not being truthful with her therapist, but you don’t know how deep this goes. While I didn’t find Danielle nearly as likable as I did Beth, I was so curious about her life and what she was hiding. I could tell she was wily, but it was unclear to me whether or not she was evil.

As I mentioned before, each chapter ended with a sort of cliffhanger, and it made it so the pacing of this book never let up; I couldn’t put it down. There was more than one twist here, and they were all so interesting. They definitely surprised me. I will say the one issue I had with this book, is that I feel like one of these characters crossed the line in a way that I wish would have given her some comeuppance, but because I also felt for her, a part of me was glad she was able to just move on. The epilogue in this book was unexpected and poignant, and I loved the closure it offered.

I thought that I Know Your Secret was an exciting read that offered some exciting twists, and if you’re a fan of Mystery/Thriller, I think you’ll enjoy it.

| Rating |

| about the author |

Ruth Heald is a psychological thriller writer from a suburban Buckinghamshire town. She studied Economics at Oxford and then worked in an eclectic mix of sectors from nuclear decommissioning to management consulting.

Seeking a more creative environment, she found a role at the BBC and worked there for nine years before leaving to write full time. Ruth is fascinated by psychology and finding out what drives people to violence, destruction and revenge. She’s married with one daughter and her novels explore our greatest fears in otherwise ordinary, domestic lives.

Website || Facebook || Twitter

Purchase I KNOW YOUR SECRET: Amazon || Apple || Kobo || Google

4 thoughts on “ARC Review | I Know Your Secret by Ruth Heald

Add yours

  1. The story sounds even better because you connected with both women. I do love that there was some edgy reveals that pulled you back into both their narratives each time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: